RSS

21 Days of the Spirit: Day 17

18 May

The Devotion of Jealousy

Today’s reading is from II Corinthians 11:3. I think this is from the NKJV
But I am afraid that just as Eve was deceived by the serpents’ cunning, your minds may somehow be led astray from your sincere and pure devotion to Christ.

There has to come a time when we mature in our faith and realize that right and wrong is far more complicated than we first thought. Pride is a good example. Is pride good or bad? I guess it depends on the situation. (Oh, no situational ethics?!?) When pride is selfish and self serving is it bad. For example, I pride myself in being better at golf that all you people. (Which is not true. I don’t like golf…too slow…too expensive…too frustrating). This would be a bad sort of pride. There is a pride that is good. A pride that is focused on other. For example, I am proud that my son has a good attitude when he plays sports. So pride can be good or bad depending on the circumstance.

Jealousy is another issue that can be good or bad. To be jealousy to the point of control and manipulation is bad, but to be passionately focused on one thing is good. The word “jealousy” means zealous vigilance. God loves us with a jealousy love. He doesn’t want us to go around flirting with the gods of this world. He wants our hearts attention and he will ENTERTAIN NO RIVAL.

God is the only being that is aloud to be self absorbed. The ultimate end of man is to glorify God and enjoy him forever. This is also God’s ultimate goal. His ultimate end is to glorify himself and enjoy himself forever. (Sounds strange, but let John Piper explain it to you).

So enter the Holy Spirit. His job is to capture our devotion, to capture our attention, to hold up a large, glowing neon sign that says LOVE GOD WITH ALL YOUR HEART SOUL MIND AND STRENGTH!

I have been thinking of a song by Natalie Merchant called “Jealousy.” I think this is the bad kind of jealousy, but see if there is anything redeeming here:

“Jealousy” (1995)
By Natile Merchant
Album: Tiggerlily

Ooo, jealousy

Is she fine
So well bred
The perfect girl
A social deb

Is she the sort
You’ve always thought
Could make you
What you’re not?

Ooo, jealousy

Is she bright so well read are there novels by her bed

Is she the sort
You’ve always said
Could satisfy
Your head?

Ooo, my jealousy

Does she talk
The way I do
Is her voice reminding you
Of the promises
The little white lies too
Sometimes, tell me
While she’s touching you
Just by mistake
Accidentally do you say my name?

If God is singing this song to me and if the girl is whatever I am putting before God then I can see a spiritual analogy here.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 18, 2006 in Theology

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
