RSS

21 Days of the Spirit: Day 19

20 May

A Will All to Myself

Luke 22:42 NIV Father, if you are willing, take this cup from me; yet not my will, but yours be done. Our devotional today opens with an important statement: “Human will was never more on display than in the Garden of Gethsemane when Jesus wrestled in torment with the will of His Father.” Jesus was fully human and so he had a completely human will. He did not have two wills (one human and one divine) – he had only one will. And he ultimately chose his Father’s will.

The Holy Spirit can affect our will but he cannot superimpose God’s will upon our own. Our will is free. Free will really throws a theological monkey wretch into life. When we grapple to understand evil, suffering and tragedies in relationship—we turn to free will. The freedom of our will does not affect God’s foreknowledge. God knows the choices we are going to make. He knows because he exists in the future and in the present at the same time. He does not control what we choose in the present, but he knows what we choose in the present because he exists in the future. (Weird, huh?)

Free will certainly complicates the will of God. It raises questions such as: Does God’s will always happen? I don’t think so. If everything that happens in life is the will of god then there can be no concept of sin. Sin is when the will of God is not done and sin happens all the time.

So what about the Holy Spirit? The Spirit gives us room to exercise our own free will, but he can influence our will. He does this through conviction. Jesus said:But I tell you the truth: It is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Counselor will not come to you; but if I go, I will send him to you. When he comes, he will convict the world of guilt in regard to sin and righteousness and judgment: in regard to sin, because men do not believe in me; in regard to righteousness, because I am going to the Father, where you can see me no longer; and in regard to judgment, because the prince of this world now stands condemned. (John 16:7-11 NIV)

He convicts us of three things:
sin (my way)
righteousness (God’s way)
judgment (the consequences)

I am praying that his convicting work will grow stronger in my heart so that I will reject my way of doing things and embrace His!

I have committed to blog 21 days in a row and I almost ran out of time for today’s blog, but I made it by about 15 minutes. Ok, enough blogging for today…it is time for sleep!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 20, 2006 in Theology

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
