RSS

Panama City Beach

10 Jun

The family and I, along with Jenni’s mother, Vera, went to Panama City Beach this week for a mini-vacation. We had a great time at the beach and hanging out at the pool. The weather was good, but the beach had a lot of seaweed in it. I monitored my sun intake a lot better than I did the last time I went to the beach. Gone are the days of my old mantra — “Fry me sun, fry me!” I spent a great deal of time under the umbrella and got just enough sun.

We took a boat to Shell Island on Wednesday, which is just off the coast of Panama City Beach. We all enjoyed going to Shell Island, but we didn’t really know what to expect. Taylor enjoyed the boat ride. Jenni and I liked the clear water and clean beach. The beach on Shell Island looked a lot like the Caribbean. We all enjoyed spotting Dolphins on the boat ride back to PCB.

I have been reading Salman Rushdie’s Midnight’s Children, which is a novel about life in India around the time of their independence from England. The characters in the novel parallel a lot of historical events that happened in India. I have wanted to read a good novel, so I have been making my way through Midnight’s Children. Rushdie was born in India, educated in England and has a fatwa issued against him by the Ayatollah Khomeini in 1989. A fatwa is a death sentence because Muslim leaders felt that Rushdie blasphemed Isalam in his book Satanic Verses. I am enjoying Midnight’s Children, but I think it will take me most of the summer to get through it.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 10, 2006 in Family

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
