RSS

New Seeds and the false self

10 Jan

Happy New Year! This post is my first of 2007. I haven’t had a chance to post since right after Christmas. At the tail end of 2006 and first week of 2007, I have been:

…working sudoku puzzles (quite addictive)

…hosting family at our house (enjoyed seeing you Kit and Katie)

…visiting family out of town (enjoyed the pulled pork Jeff!)

…reading my new ESV Bible (I love reading a Bible with nothing underlined)

…watching “Lost” Season 1 and Season 2 on DVD and now I am going to spend $12 to download the first six episodes of Season 3 in iTunes(we are hooked)

…watching my Chiefs blow it in the playoffs (I have become a temporary Chargers fan…just for the playoffs!)

…listening to Bob Dylan (I have mastered “Blowin’ in the Wind” on guitar)

…preaching on self HEALTH (see post below for more info)

…finishing reviewing interview data for my dissertation (I AM graduating in May this year!)

…battling a failing transmission in our mini van (it is still working, so I guess I am winning)

…back on a low-carb diet after packing on the poundage over the holidays (arghhhh)

Here is a wonderful quote from Thomas Merton from New Seeds of Contemplation (1972). I have added space between the sentences so you can think deeply about each statement. I will be preaching on this theme this Sunday in a message called: The false self.

All sin starts from the assumption that my false self, the self that exists only in my own egocentric desires, is the fundamental reality of life to which everything else in the universe is ordered.

Thus I use up my life in the desire for pleasures and the thirst for experiences, for power, honor, knowledge, and love to cloth this false self and construct its nothingness into something objectively real.

And I wind experiences around myself and cover myself with pleasures and glory like bandages in order to make myself perceptible to my self and to the world, as if I were an invisible body that could only become visible when something visible covered its surface.

Thomas Merton
New Seeds of Contemplation (1972)

This thought is the essence of self health. I guess it is also my new years resolution…to get my self healthy. The false self versus real self is the same concept of the old self versus real self in Paul’s writings. My prayer is: Lord, would you, by the Holy Spirit cut through the layers of my false self, so that I can see the self you created me to be. In Jesus’ name. AMEN

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 10, 2007 in Family, Theology

 

Tags:

One response to “New Seeds and the false self

  1. Santosh

    January 13, 2007 at 5:37 pm

    Low carb diet, Dylan and Lost? I think we’re soul mates.

     

Leave a Reply

 
