RSS

Dylan Devotional: The sun keeps shinin’

29 Jan

It was a beautiful drive into the office this morning. I was rockin’ to Dylan and holding a cup of coffee in a styrofoam cup. I was listening to “Thunder on the Mountain” from Dylan’s Modern Times and it seemed that he was singing what I was feeling. The sun was shining bright and illuminating the steam rising from the coffee. It was cold this morning…about 25 degrees. As I was listening to this song, I continued to replay this part. This is your Dylan devotional for the day.

Thunder on the Mountain
Bob Dylan

Thunder on the mountain, rolling like a drum
Gonna sleep over there, that’s where the music coming from
I don’t need any guide, I already know the way
Remember this, I’m your servant both night and day

The pistols are poppin’ and the power is down
I’d like to try somethin’ but I’m so far from town
The sun keeps shinin’ and the North Wind keeps picking up speed
Gonna forget about myself for a while, gonna go out and see what others need.

Life is here is short. One day I am going to “sleep over there,” in heaven, that is “where the (heavenly) music is coming from.” The music from heaven is dominated by a continual theme: the goodness, holiness, beauty and glory of God. I hear that music resonating in my heart.

“I don’t need any guide, I already know the way…” I don’t need philosophy, self-help books, pop psychology, religion, gurus, political pundits or spiritual leaders to show me the way to heaven. I already know the way…Jesus is the WAY…and he happens to be the truth and life too!

Today, I prayed: Lord, “I’m your servant both night and day.” As I hear your heavenly music, I will walk in time with your beat and repeat the song you are singing. I am your servant today and tomorrow. Use me…let my life count for eternity.

As I listened to this song, the sun was “shinin’” and “the North Wind” was blowing! Now I need to “forget about myself for a while”…say no to the unhealthy self, the false self…that me that wants to establishing the kingdom of self in my heart. “I am gonna to forget about myself”…that old self and let the Spirit recreate the image of Jesus in my heart…so I can live out my real self…so I can “go out and see what others need.”


We had a great weekend with Jimmie Bratcher, blues guitar player and evangelist from Kansas City, Missouri. We had about 80 guys show up for our multi-church men’s meeting on Saturday night, which exceeded my expectations. Jimmie also played/preached Sunday morning. He did a great job! I took notes on the sermon: I need help from the deiTY, clerGY and laiTY.

I also had a young woman come up to me after church yesterday. I had prayed for her during the worship service the week before. We believe that God was saying that he wanted to heal someone in their hands. This woman came for prayer with a skin condition on her palm. We prayed and she came back this Sunday and said the condition has cleared up. She has struggled with it for two years. It looks like God answered our prayer.

Last night, I built a fire in my woodburning stove and finished chapter four of my dissertation. It was the longest section and I am glad to have it done. I am up to page 120 and I only have one more chapter to write. I can see a light at the end of the doctoral tunnel!

“Feel like my soul is beginning to expand
Look into my heart and you will sort of understand”

–Bob Dylan

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 29, 2007 in Theology

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Dylan Devotional: The sun keeps shinin’

  1. Jeff Vreeland

    January 30, 2007 at 10:26 pm

    Congrats on getting finished with Chapter 4. I know that is a huge weight being lifted off your shoulders.

     

Leave a Reply

 
