RSS

We Survived the Tornado

03 Mar

A tornado touched down in Americus last night and ripped our town up. We are all ok at the Vreeland home. We never even lost power. I spent the whole day with a chain saw, cutting up fallen trees. Below are some pictures. I really thank God that more people weren’t killed.

This is a church member’s truck that got smashed by a falling tree.

Wesley is standingon the road of a neighborhood that was hit by the tornado.

I am standing here with my chain saw as we figured out how to move this fallen tree.

I was on the roof of the education building at our church with some other guys hanging plastic.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 3, 2007 in Life

 

5 responses to “We Survived the Tornado

  1. OPM

    March 4, 2007 at 10:39 am

    Pastor Vreeland,

    Just wanted to praise the Lord with you! Last year we were hit with a F3 Tornado that wove in and out of the path of many of our members at NLCC (spreading accross three towns)! My wife and mother-in-law was taking out little one-year-old boy (at the time) to therapy, weaving in and out of the path the tornado was coming (just minites later). God is good!

    I was actually outside ushering folks in from the parking lot at the Christian School I was teaching at, at the time. It was awe-inspiring. God really impressed on me the Eternal Wieght of His Glory through that whole experience. We also learned a little bit more of what “community” means. May God bless you and your church and its impact on your town through this difficult time. We’re praying for you & thanking God for your safety!

    In His Service,

    Pastor Shane Ogle

     
  2. derek vreeland

    March 5, 2007 at 5:37 am

    Thanks for the prayers Shane. I preached this morning on “Surviving Euroclydon” where I compared Paul’s storm with our own. We are praying that God will use this disaster to make his glory known.

    Derek

     
  3. Santosh

    March 6, 2007 at 3:08 pm

    Thank God you all are ok.

    Our staff is currently reading “emotionally healthy” – I haven’t cracked it yet, but I guess I should.

    I am psyched you have discovered Darrel Johnson. Darrel is a close friend and a dear mentor of mine. I have known him for 5 yrs. now – he was my prof. at Regent.

    Darrel is also the best preacher I have ever heard, and I have heard a lot of “big names. I would recommend downloading his sermons from 10th Ave. Church’s web-site, which is tenth.com I think.

     
  4. Santosh

    March 6, 2007 at 3:08 pm

    Thank God you all are ok.

    Our staff is currently reading “emotionally healthy” – I haven’t cracked it yet, but I guess I should.

    I am psyched you have discovered Darrel Johnson. Darrel is a close friend and a dear mentor of mine. I have known him for 5 yrs. now – he was my prof. at Regent.

    Darrel is also the best preacher I have ever heard, and I have heard a lot of “big names. I would recommend downloading his sermons from 10th Ave. Church’s web-site, which is tenth.com I think.

     
  5. derek vreeland

    March 7, 2007 at 4:37 am

    Santosh,

    Ok…so we are reading the same books, love Dylan, Lost and the Church? We have to be related!

    I read Willard’s Renovation of the Heart. By far the best book on spiritual formation that I have read. It was foundational in my disertation work.

    I will check out some of Johnson’s messages. I will try to download some to my iPod. I am going to India next week and like to load up on lots of reading/listening material.

    Derek

     

Leave a Reply

 
