RSS

The Dissertation

09 May

The Relationship Between Spiritual Transformation and
Leadership Growth in a Pentecostal/Charismatic Context

The final touches have finally been put on my doctor of ministry dissertation…and I can now say that I am done. In my final read I found more typos and errors and I am sure that there are more…oh well….I guess it will just serve as a reminder that there is only One who is perfect.

I am working on two different articles one for the academic community and one for leaders. These articles will grow out of the 173-page dissertation. I am sure that most people will never read the dissertation cover to cover, but let me highlight a few sections that may be of interest to you.

NOTE: The page numbers listed with each section are the numbers that are centered on the bottom of your adobe toolbar and not the page numbers on the upper right hand of the document.

Click here to go to the dissertation.

Table of Contents (pgs. 6-9)
You can read through these pages to find a certain part of the dissertation.

A Theology of Leadership Development (pgs. 30-34)
I discuss Paul’s relationship with Timothy and the encouragement that Paul gives Timothy about the role of the Spirit in shaping his heart. “The gift of God” (2 Tim. 1:6-7) that Timothy is encouraged to stir up is not the gifts of the Spirit, but the Holy Spirit himself.

A Trinitarian Understanding of Spiritual Transformation (pgs. 35-37)
Read this if you don’t read anything else. I believe this section is the greatest contribution of my dissertation. I discuss this Trinitarian vision in a couple other sections below. I also hope that this idea becomes the genesis of a book.

Spiritual Transformation (pgs. 48-60)
This section dives a bit deeper into the theological foundations for spiritual transformation. I spend a good deal of time working through Dallas Willard’s ideas. He is the foremost evangelical authority in the area of spiritual formation. I touch on the Trinitarian vision again with a bit more depth.

A Pentecostal/charismatic Theology of Spirit Baptism (pg 60-69)
I am encouraging Pentecostal/charismatic Christians to broaden their definition of the baptism in the Holy Spirit to include the sanctification dimensions of the Spirit. This encouragement follows the thinking of Larry Hart (who taught me Systematic Theology at ORU) and Raniero Cantelemessa, a charismatic Catholic priest, who is the best writer/thinker/theologian in the area of pneumatology (i.e. The Holy Spirit).

Findings (pgs. 91-135)
This section includes the culmination of all of the interview data. If you were one of the interview participants, you will find all the responses from all of the participants here. A few things of interest are: (1) The 25 different disciplines practiced by the interview participants (pg. 115) ; and (2) three stories of transformation and leadership growth from Darrell Chatraw, Jimmy Bryson and Darren Davis (pgs. 129-133). Thank you guys for your transparency and authenticity!

The Six Leadership Principles (pgs. 137-151)
I will not list them here, but my research led me to form six leadership principles.

Theological Implications (pgs. 151-154)
This section is my last discussion of the Trinitarian vision of spiritual transformation. It includes a great quote from Simon Chan, who accelerated my thinking in the area of trinitarian theology and Pentecostal spirituality.

Practical Application (pgs. 155 – 159)
If you are just looking for “how tos” then read this section. I offer five practical things you can do to integrate spiritual transformation into your growth as a leader. I will warn you, one of them is theological – so you cannot escape theology all together!

There are too many people to thank in this entire process, but let me give one big SHOUT OUT (and thanks) to the interview participants listed on pg. 151. You guys are all men of God and I am overwhelming appreciative for the time we spent together. Thank you for your unique contribution to this study!

MAY THE HOLY SPIRIT CONTINUE TO TRANSFORM YOU INTO THE IMAGE OF THE SON FOR THE JOY OF GOD THE FATHER.

To God Be the Glory.

Dr. Derek Vreeland

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 9, 2007 in Life, Theology

 

Tags:

One response to “The Dissertation

  1. Santosh

    May 9, 2007 at 9:03 am

    congrat on finishing! It must feel great to be finished. Looking forward to checking it out.

     

Leave a Reply

 
