RSS

Random Thoughts: P.G., Writing, Dylan, Hybels & PDAs

20 Jun
Traveling with P.G.
I am getting ready to travel with P.G. Vargis to a few churches over the next couple of weeks. P.G. is an incredible man. He is the founder and now “chief mentor” of IET the largest and fasting growing indiginous church planting movement in India. He is the only real “apostle” that I know. He is apostolic not because he carries the title, but because he functions as one.

Over the next two weeks we will be in Harlingen, TX; Chicago, IL; Botkins, OH; and St. Joe, MO. P.G. is speaking in churches and I am beginning my work establishing relationships with pastors that want to work with IET. I enjoy being around P.G. He is wise, eccentric, passionate, funny, energetic, full-of-faith, a visionary…all rolled into one. Check out his site at http://www.pgv.com/

Writing a book
I am developing a book proposal that I am going to pitch to a few publishers. A part of the proposal is the first the chapters which I am working on. I will do some of the work while traveling the next few weeks. All of my article proposals have been shot down. One editor from an academic journal said that my dissertation work is flirting with tautology. (I had to look that one up!) Writing is hard work. People will always criticize what you write, but I am going to continue on. If I can’t get a publisher to buy into my book idea, then I am going to self publish. Grisham started that way!

Bob Dylan
So I have been plunged my self into Dylan’s music recently. I just added four albums to my iPod. I have had two of Dylan’s Christian albums in my collection for years, but discovering Dylan’s wider work has been like being reunited with a long lost fiend. I listen to his music and feel like I know this guy from somewhere. Maybe it is because a number of his songs have been covered by other bands over the years. Maybe it is because the poetry in his songwriting has such an earthly-humanly feel.

Ain’t Talkin’ Just Walkin’
I am finishing my teaching series “Just Walk Across the Room” teaching series this Sunday. I am traveling over the next two weeks, but will be home on Sunday mornings. JWATR was developed by Bill Hybels and Willow Creek. Good stuff…really. There are a ton of bloggers who are critical of Hybels, but they are of course ignorant. Literally, they are without knowledge. Hybels is not my favorite writer or teacher in terms of style, but he is passionate about evangelism. His passion for lost people is contagious! Hybels is biblical, spiritual and real. Check out the Just Walk Across the Room website at http://www.justwalkacrosstheroom.com/ and ignore all of the watchdog sites that ignorantly label, criticize and condemn Hybels.

BTW “Ain’t Talkin, Just Walkin’” is from a Dylan song.

Me, Bill and Bobby are all “practicing a faith that’s been long abandoned…Ain’t no altars on this long and lonesome road.”

PDAs
I just restarted by Dell Axim x50. It was locked up for a few months and I was frustrated with it, but I did a default restart and it works! It sure is handy…especially when traveling. Guess what I am using for wallpaper on my pda? Click here for the answer.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 20, 2007 in Ministry

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Random Thoughts: P.G., Writing, Dylan, Hybels & PDAs

  1. OPM

    June 22, 2007 at 11:20 am

    Sounds like God is really opening doors. I had opportunity to hear P.G. at WOLC’s minister’s conference a few years back — still remember his sermon (it was on Abraham and Isaac!) It looks like you’ll have quite the exciting itenary. Praise the Lord for that!

    p.s. I don’t think your writing (or at least your blogging) is refelctive of “tautology”. It is nothing like what that guy said. You do not repeat yourself in any way. If you know what I mean.

    Seriously, keep it up!

    Shane

     
  2. derek vreeland

    June 24, 2007 at 8:32 am

    P.G. has an effecious spirit about him. Have you ever been to India? If not you should think about going sometime and see what God is doing there. It is amazing. We could talk about it sometime if you are interested.

    Thanks for the encouragement. I am going to continue pursuing publication. The guy who said that I was flirting with tautology did hit on some weakness in my dissertation. The criticism only serves to make me a better writer.

    Derek

     

Leave a Reply

 
