RSS

Rambling questions

29 Jul

Most of my posts are well thought out reflections, normally responses to things I am reading or listening to. The follow is just a random list of rambling questions. I am in the process of grilling chicken and I have been thinking about a lot of unanswered questions in between flipping the chicken every five minutes. Here is the list in no order of importance:

Will Priest Holmes actually play football for the Kansas City Chiefs this season?

Is all this aspartame in Diet Coke really that bad for you?

Will India every have true freedom of religion?

Will the political inefficiency of the American government ever lead to a political collapse?

What would a post-democratic “US” look like?

Would most churches collapse because they have put too much stock in the so-called “Christian nation?”

How long has the Simpsons been on TV?

Who in their right mind would pay $8.50 to watch the Simpsons Movie on the big screen?

Will Jessica Simpson ever repent and come back to her Christian roots?

How long will I be so privately judgmental?

Will John MacArthur ever like any other Christians that are NOT like him?

Will Dylan ever be recognized by pop culture as the poetic icon he is?

Will I ever learn to play that cool blues riff in “It’s Alright Ma”?

Will I ever write a book?

Will I ever be satisfied in the ministry?

When will we stop obsessively worship the unholy trinity of Paris, Britney and Lindsay?

Is LL’s dad really a Christian?

Will the Church thrive in the post-Christian Western world?

Will innovators in the church ever be above criticism?

Will the voices of the past become the teachers of the Church today?

Can we communicate to a post-Christian, post-enlightenment culture using culturally appropriate means without worship the idol of relevance?

Will I ever find a better word than “culture”?

Will anything ever come of all of this global warming hype?

Will the Internet be the printing press of this millennium?

Will cars ever fly?

Is Drew Carey really the next host of The Price Is Right?

Does anybody still watch TPIR?

Is Michael Vick‘s career really over?

Will my children grow up and go into the ministry?

Will my wife ever let me listen to Dylan in the van without rolling her eyes?

Ok that is all for today….BBQ chicken is ready!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 29, 2007 in Life

 

4 responses to “Rambling questions

  1. Santosh

    July 29, 2007 at 2:22 pm

    These are all really good questions – great conversation starters for small groups.

    I liked the Dylan one – and your wife rolling her eyes. I think our wives would get along – I went to my first Dylan concert with my wife in Saskatoon – we had front row. As we were leaving she said she would never see him again! I was crushed!

     
  2. Derek Vreeland

    July 30, 2007 at 3:32 am

    Santosh,

    Our lives continue to parallel. I wouldn’t dare take my wife to a Dylan concert, I am happy that she will at least let me listen to Dylan when we drive together.

    Derek

     
  3. Rocky Russell

    July 30, 2007 at 10:36 am

    Derek-
    For the question about post Democratic United States (that was scary to type!) I have a book that may be helpful. This weekend I went to a book sale at the library and found a book from the ’60s for pastors titled “How to Preach During a Revolution.” I’ve just started getting into it, but very interesting stuff. Anyway, great day to all.

    Rocky

     
  4. Derek Vreeland

    July 30, 2007 at 9:33 pm

    Sounds like an interesting book. It is scary to think about what the life, church, ministry, etc. would be like if our govermental and economic systems collapsed. I am certainly don’t want that to happen, but it certain could. Rome was falling to the barbarians while Augustine was writing The City of God. He called Rome the “eternal city” and I think he had a hard time with its collapse.

    Derek

     

Leave a Reply

 
