RSS

My wife went to NYC and all I got was this GREAT T-Shirt

14 Aug

Jenni got in late last night from her trip to Manhattan. She and her sister were in NYC for four nights and three days. It was a much deserved mini-vacation for Jenni. She enjoyed the trip and came back with this cool Bob Dylan T-shirt for me. This was far better than the cheesy “I [heart] NY” shirt that most of the tourists buy.

By the way, I took this picture with the built in digital camera on my new laptop…sweet!

We had a great weekend with David Hartman from Shevet Achim, a ministry in Israel that connects Jewish doctors with Muslim children who need heart surgeries. We did an interview/sermon with him Sunday morning in our church and then he preached at a friend’s church in Arabi, Georgia last night. David is involved in an incredible ministry in Israel. You can listen to the interview on the NEW Cornerstone Church website. We are going live this week, so I am now advertising the new site. Go to: www.cornerstoneamericus.com/sermons

We will have our iTunes account set up soon, so you can start getting our podcast downloaded weekly…..sweet!

We are getting ready to launch our Men’s Fraternity at the church next month. MF is a men’s small group that includes large group study and small group time where men can “man up” on each other. Our study for this year will be “The Quest for Authentic Manhood.” We will be meeting at 7:30 am Sunday mornings (not sweet), but it will be good to call the men together so we can challenge each other to grow up and be a MAN! My slogan through the launch of Men’s Fraternity is going to be – Don’t be a sissy! Join the Fraternity!

Sweet!

I am continuing my study of 1 Corinthians this week. I am preaching from 1 Corinthians 4 this Sunday. I just read that we (as church leaders) are “the scum of the earth” (1 Cor. 4:13). Nice text. It really shoots holes in all of that “positive mental attitude” talk in the church. This verse would make a great leadership study for pastors in America. Instead of twenty ways to attract new people to your church, how about “Twenty Reasons Why We are the Scum of the Earth.”

Well, I might look like Robert Ford, but I feel just like a Jesse James.
Bob Dylan, “Outlaw Blues” (1965)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 14, 2007 in Family, Life

 

Tags:

3 responses to “My wife went to NYC and all I got was this GREAT T-Shirt

  1. Anonymous

    August 15, 2007 at 12:04 am

    Test me

     
  2. Anonymous

    August 15, 2007 at 12:07 am

    test me take 2

     
  3. Anonymous

    August 31, 2007 at 7:01 am

    love the shirt Derek that shirt is way better then a I heart NYC lol ttul

     

Leave a Reply

 
