RSS

facebook and blogging

16 Apr

So a few weeks ago, I signed up for a facebook account to see a video posted by a friend on his facebook account. I signed on to facebook simply to see his video. I thought, “I blog and that is about all I can keep up with. I don’t really want to enter the whole facebook world.” And I am a bit like Jerry, the “character” on Seinfeld. I have three friends and I really don’t have room for more. Yes, I am an introvert.

After setting up a facebook account, I began to receive emails from people who wanted to be my friend. Sounded pretty nice. (Thanks Santosh, you were my first facebook friend.) I put some time into my facebook account, added some profile info, added some applications, and started searching for friends. I was able to connect with some friends that I haven’t talked to for years. So maybe I do have room for more than three friends. I am still new to the social networking scene, but I am increasingly becoming interested in growing my social network.

Now I am connecting my blog to my facebook account. I have been blogging at www.derekvreeland.com since March 2006. I originally set up the blog as an online journal to keep an account of a teaching trip to India. Now some 183 post later, I have found the blog to a great outlet for writing and connecting with others. Today, I am adding an application on my facebook account, so that my facebook friends can see what I am posting on the blog.

With a little tweaking, I hope to successfully interface the two.

Click here to go to my facebook profile.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 16, 2008 in Life, Ministry

 

Tags:

2 responses to “facebook and blogging

  1. Jeff Vreeland

    April 17, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    Welcome to the 21 Century 🙂

    Next we have to get you on Twitter.

     
  2. Santosh

    April 22, 2008 at 11:43 am

    I’m proud to be your first Facebook friend!

     

Leave a Reply

 
