RSS

Conference & Book Signing in St. Joe

05 Oct

I returned home today from the 2008 Conference for Pastors and Leaders hosted by Word of Life Church in St. Joseph, Missouri (my hometown). The conference went well. I meet two new friends, Joe Beach & Lee Cummings. Both are pastors and we are certainly cut from the same stock. It is such a pleasure to hang out with like-minded pastors.

The book signing went well. Here are some pictures:

My friend Brian Zahnd, my new friend Lee Cummings, and I were the primary speakers at the conference and we each spoke on similar themes although we didn’t plan it that way. We each talked about fresh paradigms for ministry. I spoke on Charismania: Rethinking the Values of a Charismatic Subculture. The was an important message for me, because it describes why I packed my bags and left the charismatic movement. It was well received.

Thursday night, Brian shared ten definitive statements based on his four year journey of rethinking the Christian life. He called it “My Own Reformation.” He shared ten—or nine and a half—”isms” that he has rejected in order to experience a more authentic Christian life. Here is his list:

1) For the sake of a more authentic Christianity, I reject fundamentalism.

2) For the sake of a more sound Christianity, I reject fanaticism.

3) For the sake of a more peaceable Christianity, I reject tribalism.

4) For the sake of a more biblical Christianity, I reject Gnosticism.

5) For the sake of worldwide Christianity, I reject nationalism.

6) For the sake of a more prophetic Christianity, I reject politicism.

7) For the sake of a more rooted Christianity, I reject presentism.

8) For the sake of a more kingdom-oriented Christianity, I reject privatism.

9) For the sake of a more sacred Christianity, I reject pragmatism.

9.5) For the sake of Spirit-filled Christianity, I reject Pentecostalism.

I could not agree more.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 5, 2008 in Ministry

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Conference & Book Signing in St. Joe

  1. faithworshiplife

    October 7, 2008 at 1:40 am

    Hey Derek,

    Congratulations!!! I’m sorry that my name didn’t appear in the dedication section … oh well … maybe next time? Ha Ha.

    You’ll be speaking at Asbury on my birthday. Do they know you’re a closet Calvinist? Ha ha.

    In all seriousness, though, I would hearing more about what you believe the nine principles of your friend would look like in practice. For example: believing Moses wrote most or all of the Pentateuch at Asbury would get me labelled “Fundamentalist.” However, believing in the Virgin Birth or the bodily resurrection from at the dead of Jesus at the Presbyterian seminary in Louisville, KY would get me labelled “Fundamentalist.”

    I guess I’m interested in the practical outworkings this plan which don’t in the end undercut what you are trying to accomplish. Perhaps this could be an email conversation due to space?

    Your Friend,

    William

     
  2. Derek Vreeland

    October 8, 2008 at 3:34 am

    I just as much a Calvinist as John Wesley was! Except I throw in eternal security, where Wesley through it out….but shhhh don't tell anybody.

    Maybe we should have a longer conversation about the nine "isms" my friend mentioned in his list. Better than that, you can order the conference CDs from their bookstore at http://www.wolc.com/sites/v2/index.php?sitearea=page&pid=41

    You cannot order online. You will have to call if you are interested.

    Brian elaborated on his rejection of fundamentalism by defining it by
    1) infallibility of a narrow interpretation (i.e. they are unaware of their own biases)
    2) hyper literal reading of the text
    3) an unnecessary antagonism toward the scientific community
    4) a negative attitude towards education and scholarship
    5) a tendency to draw the line separating good and evil between groups of people

     
  3. Derek Vreeland

    October 8, 2008 at 3:34 am

    I just as much a Calvinist as John Wesley was! Except I throw in eternal security, where Wesley through it out….but shhhh don't tell anybody.

    Maybe we should have a longer conversation about the nine "isms" my friend mentioned in his list. Better than that, you can order the conference CDs from their bookstore at http://www.wolc.com/sites/v2/index.php?sitearea=page&pid=41

    You cannot order online. You will have to call if you are interested.

    Brian elaborated on his rejection of fundamentalism by defining it by
    1) infallibility of a narrow interpretation (i.e. they are unaware of their own biases)
    2) hyper literal reading of the text
    3) an unnecessary antagonism toward the scientific community
    4) a negative attitude towards education and scholarship
    5) a tendency to draw the line separating good and evil between groups of people

     

Leave a Reply

 
