RSS

The new blog

06 Feb

After 2 years 10 months, 220 posts, and over 32,000 hits on www.derekvreeland.blogspot.com/, I am moving my blog. WordPress is giving me the look I want, with a better (and easier) way to update my blog.

Another reason for the move is that I am working to integrate the various places you can find me online, including:

I am keeping my old blog (www.derekvreeland.blogspot.com) online as an archive of older posts, but all new updates will be here on WordPress.com.

I am going to continue to blog on four major themes

  • Theology: book reviews, things I am reading/thinking, sermon outlines, etc.
  • Family: updates on our ever growing family
  • Ministry: leadership reflections, ministry innovations
  • Life: everything else, especially Dylan: music, videos, lyrics/poetry, commentary

So what do you think of the new blog? Comments, please!

Derek

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 6, 2009 in Life

 

Tags: ,

7 responses to “The new blog

  1. David Ortinau

    February 6, 2009 at 9:42 pm

    looks very nice!

    I think WordPress can bring over your blogger content. I just googled it and found a LOT of info about it. Not sure what’s credible, but perhaps worth looking into. You may not want to have to continue replying to comments on both sites.

     
  2. derekvreeland

    February 6, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    Thanks Dave-O. I will look into moving over my old posts, that would be sweet. Good point about responding to replies. I’m gonna disable comments on the old blog.

     
  3. Jeff Vreeland

    February 6, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    Great Looking new website!

    I am sure you can get an app on your touch to update from it as well 🙂

     
  4. derekvreeland

    February 6, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    Yeah, that is the next step…find some iPod Touch apps.

     
  5. Faith, Worship & Life

    February 7, 2009 at 1:54 am

    Hey Derek,

    Liking WordPress, huh? I moved a bit ago from blogspot to WordPress and have thoroughly enjoyed it. Your blog looks great … it seems to fit your personality with the dark background theme and all. Perhaps you missed your calling to be in one of Anne Rice’s former Vampire novels? Hey, I hear they are going to be doing a Twilight 2 before long.

    Ha Ha just joking. Your blog does look cool though.

    I’m going to be putting you down as one of my references … if that is alright. It’s okay for you to tell them the truth … that I am an apostate who no longer believes in Eternal Security.

    Talk to you later.

    William

     
    • derekvreeland

      February 7, 2009 at 2:04 am

      Yeah Word Press is MUCH better than blogger. I have moved all 220 posts on blogger in WP and now I am giving each one of them a category and a tag or two. I do like black like my friends Anne Rice and Johnny Cash. Good stuff!

      Yeah put me down as a reference. I will make sure they are aware of your heterodox position on salvation. By God’s sovereign and providential grace, I will work to convert you.

      Derek

       
  6. Faith, Worship & Life

    February 7, 2009 at 2:41 am

    Yeah, I’m doing the same thing … but over time. I really like this “Tag” thing.

    Yeah and when you’re telling them about me … make sure you throw around various terms and names … depending on who they are. If they are:

    Methodists … Jerry Falwell, James Dobson, Pat Robinson, Southern Baptist Convention, Southern Methodist Church

    Baptists … Stanley Hauerwas, Bishop Shelby Spong, John Wesley, United Methodist Church

    Charismatic … Southern Baptist Covention

    Non-charismatic … Amee Semple McPherson, Derek Vreeland & Cornerstone Church

     

Leave a Reply

 
